Skip to content

MAUITIME {March 10th, 2011}

March 10, 2011

For those lucky enough to live in Hawaii, you’ll fine my work gracing the cover of today’s issue of MauiTime.

Thanks to Chris Skiles for his help as well as the wonderful graphic design he’s wrought on top of my piece. Seeing it presented like this feels so, I don’t know, legit.

Now that I’m in the throes of this new experimental illustration phase, I’ve been thinking a lot about the heavy hitters of the field, people like Anita Kunz and Steve Brodner. Both are at this point extremely well established and have had long enough careers to easily see how they’ve stayed pertinent through adapting to changing times and styles. Having been out of school for less than a year and trying to comprehend Brodner’s thirty plus years in the ‘biz is unfathomable.

I remember seeing a bunch of Steve Brodner’s work for the mid-nineties where he built clay models of the politicians he was depicting, photograph them, then digitally assemble paintings and found objects into this completed illustration. Nowadays, you can look back at it and snicker at his very obvious purchase of a Macintosh Computer and a copy of Photoshop, but is still no less inspiring. As much as I admire artists like Al Hirschfeld and Hank Ketchum, the consistency in their work (although inspiring in its own way) is not how I want to approach my work. Hirschfeld did his schtick for eight decades! How did he get away with that?!!?

And the sketches with the accompanying real life counterpart.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jon Chad permalink
    March 15, 2011 9:35 AM

    I love this! I wish I lived I Hawaii just so I could see this in print!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

