Skip to content

HEY GEORGE! Its me, Jeremy.

July 21, 2011

At the beginning of July I posted fanart I drew for the book series A Song of Ice and Fire and mentioned how it was for a little zine Kris Mukai was putting out called Blood Magic. Big news, its out!

In fact, I got my copy in the mail yesterday and I couldn’t be happier! Beautiful work inside, thick paper stock, and a fancy Risographed cover makes for one handsome little ‘zine. Pick up your copy today! Like I said last journal post, I love the book series and I’ve become something of a George R.R. Martin cheerleader (my Mom is reading the first book right now because I mailed it to her/I hope she loovvveeesss it) so I was pretty startled to hear that brave Kris Mukai gave Mr. R.R.Martin a copy of the zine in. real. life.

There it is! All the proof you or I need! P.S. Loovveee his flame covered suspenders! SO House Targaryen!

Its easy to forget that there is a reason why I slave away on what I do, day after day, week after week. And I’m sure nothing will come of this beyond maybe giving George R.R. Martin something to do on his flight back to Westeros but it is a little incredible that the world is small enough that instances like this can happen. All I know is that I am plain ol’ dumb lucky to get to do what I do and have an audience to share it with.

This week I did another illustration for another ‘zine, this one for my dear friend Chris Sutton.

Premiering at this year’s SPX, Chris’ will be distributing a book on famous Blue’s musicians entitled Blues!Blues!Blues!. When the book gets closer to fruition, I’ll let you guys know where you can find a copy. I didn’t know about Mississippi John Hurt until Chris picked him for me to illustrate but I’m so glad he did. If you’re into listening to incoherent stories told by little old grandpa men with fingers of gold, you should probably watch this video over on yonder.

Chris is also a talented illustrator in his own right and is worth the gander over here! Not to mention one of the nicest people I’ve ever met in my life, hands down, no competition.

Last but not least, another one of my ultra mega talented buds named Andy Hirsch started a new web comic this week called Varmints! Its adorable, all ages  and a single buck will get you hooked, I swear it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

