Skip to content

FACE-ing the Facts

July 13, 2010

Last week I taught my first class at the Easel Art Studio, an art space for kids ages 12 months to around 15 years old to do art and be kids and stuff. I had a batch of six kids, five little girls who were all six years old and a single boy, aged 12. It was pretty wonderful and I hope it becomes a full time gig, fingers crossed, because having to tame a gaggle of little girls from teasing a pubescent sarcastic tween is entirely too much fun for its own good.

Me the morning of my first class finishing the last poster.

I made these huge posters to illustrate for the kids what I do and what they would be doing, which is drawing.

I drew each of these three posters on that 22 by 28 standard poster board sold in every Walgreen’s and CVS pharmacy from here to the moon.

Second poster illustrating how to use simple shapes to make iconic characters and help the kids to understand that what I do isn’t some crazy voodoo witch-y magic.

The last poster, which is what my first class was actually about. Each of the kids was given a little mirror so they could draw themselves which is about the extent of what I could teach a bunch of six year old girls. I brought in my drawing mirror, an old makeup mirror I stole from my Mom ages ago and they were all fascinated by how it enlarged your face to aid plucking individual hairs and such. They all thought it was gross to be able to see your face that close. When I gave the presentation, I stuck my head in the hole and made each of the faces I had drawn. I think I freaked one of the little girls out because of my beard.

Besides teaching, I’ve been penciling away at The Title, that huge comic undertaking I’m in the middle of.

SInce I have no deadline for this and no one is expecting anything from me, I’ve been taking my sweet time to make the absolute best thing I can commit to paper. After four years of schooling being deadline-less and being able to savor making something I’m in love with feels so satisfying. It’s like I’m finally getting my honeymoon with comics. You can read the first 8 pages at jeremysorese.com, if you haven’t already.

A detail. Flying chickens and goats are heaps of fun to draw.

A few weeks back I started drawing out the entire population of my 1860’s Midwestern town to help me draw the next eighty something-odd pages for my comic The Title. It felt a little O.C.D. drawing them all out but the idea of reoccurring tertiary characters is something so exciting in a comic. And after drawing all 64 residents out, it has made drawing crowd scenes infinitely easier.

For those who will be attending San Deigo Comic Con next week, I won’t be there but my artwork will. My alma mater SCAD is organizing a couple lectures and are printing a commemorative shirt to give out. I haven’t seen the finished shirts yet but when I do I’ll post them here as well for those not lucky enough to rub elbows with the San Diego sunshine. When I was drawing this shirt way back in May, my friend Zach and I decided that the superhero I drew was named the Fly-By-Knight, a man obsessed by commercial air travel who wishes he was doing more important things with his night besides saving that family.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2010 1:02 AM

    I just found my way here via Dean Trippe’s twitter feed, though I also know your work from Picture Book Report. Your work for this drawing/cartooning class for kids has me floored (as does the rest of your work, of course!). Really remarkable stuff, you did a fantastic job boiling down the essentials of character design (a particular love of mine…I was a TA for Brian Ralph’s Character Development class at MICA) for a young audience. Truly wonderful work, keep it up. –subscribed!–

    Best,

    Mark Grambau

    • Jeremy Sorese permalink*
      July 14, 2010 3:31 PM

      Thank you so much for the kind words! I really appreciate it a lot! And thanks to Mr. Trippe I’ve gotten more blog hits than I ever have before!

      AND strangely enough B. Ralph was one of my favorite teachers when he defected to SCAD! Its a small world indeed!

  2. July 21, 2010 11:06 PM

    Incredible! Those kids have no idea how good of a teacher they’ve got. Beautiful stuff, man!

    • Jeremy Sorese permalink*
      August 15, 2010 11:19 PM

      Thanks Mr. Nguyen!

  3. August 7, 2010 1:00 PM

    Dude, Jeremy, you astound me. That comic you’re working on is going to be awesome, and I am super impressed by your dedication– drawing all the inhabitants of the town? And each one is characterized so well?? Amazing. Amazing. Also, those little kids in your class are super lucky. What fun! Can’t wait to see all the other awesome stuff you pull out of your hat.

    • Jeremy Sorese permalink*
      August 15, 2010 11:22 PM

      Thanks Kali! I really appreciate all the support you all have shown me!

  4. sbosma permalink
    August 11, 2010 11:07 PM

    I can’t wait for this comic to be done. I’m gonna read it five times in a row.

    • Jeremy Sorese permalink*
      August 15, 2010 11:17 PM

      Well, hold your horses because its not going to be done for quite some time! Thanks for the enthusiasm though!

  5. October 4, 2010 6:19 PM

    What you do IS still voo-doo witchy magic!

    You know those How To Draw books that have a triangle and three-steps to something wonderful are frustrating for kids. But I still love it. Did they get it?

Leave a Reply

