Skip to content

Passably Punctual

October 21, 2010


On Nov. 6th, I’m teaching a class on comics at Challengers comics here in Chicago. The class is the first in a long string of monthly classes, each focusing on a different graphic novel. This first class focuses on Paul Goes Fishing, a book I love by Michel Rabagliati. I’m trying not to spend too much brain power worrying about it and will just blindly assume its going to go off without a hitch. If you are in the area, please stop by to watch me try and not muck things up too much hard/make some semblance of sense. We’ll see how it goes.

Besides that, I have another piece in another gallery show.

The Spoke Gallery out in San Fran is having their inaugural show focused around pieces inspired by the filmmaker Wes Anderson. I have the honor of having a piece in the show alongside my buddy Becky Dreistadt.

My piece focuses on Herman Blume, the unsatisfied billionaire from Rushmore/ Bill Murray with a little moustache. The past week was spent feverishly painting away in preparation for this week’s deadline and in all honesty, I barely made it. After spending too much time on the Monsterbation gallery piece, I fear that I spent too little on this one. “Painting” is level of serious art-i-ness that I am unprepared for.

In its hand painted frame surrounded by its hand painted orange mat.

A detail.

Getting this piece into the mail on time was such a horrifically intense event that almost didn’t happen. Everything in this photo is still wet. I repainted the frame less than an hour before I walked it to the post office and most of that hour was spent trying not to bark at my roommate for something entirely out of his control.

And if all goes accordingly to plan, next week will have a few A Wrinkle in Time pages to show for it ! I feel pretty good about me getting back on schedule, which can totally happen! Even if I have an entire Halloween costume to paper mache’ in that time as well.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 30, 2010 10:02 PM

    Jeremy, That poster is awesome.

Leave a Reply

