Skip to content

A Retail Stooge No Longer

January 3, 2011

If there is one thing I am, it is a planner. I love organizing my life in a rational orderly sequence, where I make back up plans and exit strategies and all in all, thresh the unexpected down to a manageable tuft.

Which stunk to high heaven when I lost my job back in the middle of December. The rest of my holiday season was a frustrated mess, sick with worry and bills. And after twisting myself into knots and a really nice holiday back in Virginia with my family, I’ve decided to make the best of my turn of luck and take four (maybe five) months off and work on comics and illustration full time. Working full time AND trying to be a cartoonist was, looking back on it, strenuous. After my little sabatical, I’ll re-apply for newer and better part time jobs which isn’t even on my radar yet.


Now that I have copious amounts of free time, I’m finally making some head way on some projects. The first of which is that 36 page story, the one I posted some pencils from last post. The story will go “live” at the end of January, life permitting and when that happens, I’ll let you know.

Here is the first page.

I reached page 23 of the pencils last night, which is exciting. It always boggles my mind when I think about the sheer volume of pages drawn in a full graphic novel and how I’ve noticed myself build up page stamina since I started drawing comics four years ago. Hard to believe that back then a five pager was a BIG deal.

Two commissions from the past few weeks.

If you’re in the market for a commission, just drop me a line at jeremysorese (at) gmail.com!

Lastly, hope everyone had a wonderful New Years Eve!

Until next week, take care of yourself.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kali Ciesemier permalink
    January 3, 2011 4:58 PM

    I’m wishing you the best, mister! I can only imagine what wonderful things you’re gonna come up with during this hiatus. That comic page looks great, I’m really curious what it is!

    • Jeremy Sorese permalink*
      January 3, 2011 5:03 PM

      Thanks Kali! I’m trying not to wig out!

  2. molly permalink
    January 3, 2011 9:38 PM

    that page looks right nice all digitized, mister. and welcome to our uncomfortable, squishy warm fold…? except i almost don’t think you fit into ‘THE UNEMPLOYED’ because you’re doing straight-up career-y things. you also probably won’t become a smelly hermit for un-weather-related reasons. it’s a weird distinction.

    i put a box for you in the mail today! <3<3

Leave a Reply

