Skip to content

Shell Shock { A TMNT Tribute Gallery}

June 1, 2011

If you live anywhere near Philadelphia and don’t already have plans for this Friday, I definitely recommend trying to make it out to ‘Shell Shock’, a tribute gallery show focused on those beloved Turtles on A Half Shell happening from 6 till 9 at Brave New Worlds Comics. Not only do I have a piece in it but my dear friends Becky Dreistadt and Zach Marcus are both in it as well.

As a kid, the action figures were my whole world. I joke but I owned most, if not all of them. Remember the Michelangelo Party Time one? With the birthday whistle in his chest that you could blow through? I do. So for my piece it seems only right to recreate the packaging for the action figures, or at least do it as if I was in charge of product design in the early 90s. (Close second to my love for the toys; Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles; Turtles in Time. Throwing the Foot Solider at the screen never got old)

Both paintings were cut out and sandwiched around a piece of chip board and hung inside of a refurbished kitchen drawer I found in a thrift store and fixed up (sanded/puttied/primed/painted). I even reused the protective toy bubble I found on the packaging of a Ben 10 action figure, which you can more easily see in that second photo above.

Another close up. The finish piece was sealed between two sheets of plexiglass (to preserve its collector’s value) and is hung so you can easily see both sides of the piece.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2011 2:56 PM

    Jeremy, this is incredibly fun looking! It’s just as great to see your work now as it was then in class!

    • Jeremy Sorese permalink*
      June 29, 2011 7:42 PM

      Thanks Weigy! Hope all is well for you out there in the world!

  2. June 29, 2011 10:16 AM

    these are unbelievable. i am so glad to have discovered your art. i would love to pick your brain and hear your advice on painting. i really meant it when i said i hope to paint like you someday. i hope you produce more paintings in the (near) future, and continue to make more incredible art and comics

    • Jeremy Sorese permalink*
      June 29, 2011 7:41 PM

      Aww, thanks so much for the praise!
      As for any advice, I’d say just keep producing work. That’s the best advice I could give to anyone, just keep going. If you have specific questions, feel free to email though!

Leave a Reply

