Skip to content

You couldn’t possibly be as excited as I am

January 4, 2012

 There’s no two ways to slice it, I’m moving to France.

I know, I know, I’m excited too!

Life in Chicago, however wonderful it has been to me, has been exhausting. Wonderful but damn, so tiring. And although I’m genuinely sad to be leaving, the prospect of living in Angouleme for nine months is just too phenomenal to pass up. Having the time to just draw uninterrupted is a luxury I’d be lucky enough to enjoy anywhere, let alone France.

My time in France will be spent in Angouleme, as a resident at La Maison Des Auteurs starting in late summer of this New Year until spring of 2013. You can find more information on the website HERE, as well as this goofy vacation advertisement for the city of Angouleme and the things you can do with your time there. Like shop at the quaint farmers market. Or stand in awe before the majesty of roughly hewn stone cathedrals. Or go to a water park??

That said, well, the bad news at least, is that I’m delaying the launch of my new web comic Curveball until at least the summer. A downside, the only downside really, about moving to France is that its expensive which means more hours at my day job which inevitably (and unfortunately) means less time for comics. This in addition to a few recent really fortunate illustration gigs and trying to regain my social life has made free time a hot commodity round these parts.

{The sample cover I sent along with application for my residency to Les Maison Des Auteurs}

So maybe around May/June/hell July I’ll start spreading the word around. So just hang tight. My comics are not going anywhere. They’re just taking a little while longer than I thought to get started.

Besides that, I’ve been working on a 14 pager for the small publishing house 2DCloud. Little Heart (the anthology) focuses on stories about equal marriage rights. Considering I spent the fall attending the weddings of my parents, the project couldn’t have been a better fit. I’ve never drawn an autobiographical comic before and I’ll have to admit, it was hard for me. Walking the fine line between genuine sincerity and weepy melodrama was harder than I could’ve imagined. Besides, I think I need to take a lengthy break from drawing myself. I’m pretty bored with me.

Lastly, I did this week’s NewCity cover. For the past few years, the first cover of the year for the NewCity is the Education Issue focusing, not on high school or college students, but adults and their extracurricular activities that seem to flair up in this post-New Year’s resolution blitzkrieg.

This cover marks my fifth drawn, a majority drawn while living in the Windy City. With my France trip looming quickly on the horizon, I’ve become the biggest sap reminiscing about the time I’ve spent here. I love this city (a lot) and have nestled nicely into its fold. In the nearly two years I’ve lived here, I have barely skimmed the surface of all that this city has to offer me.

But the way I look at it, there’s a whole planet I’ve left nearly untouched.

Chicago, it’s been grand. Thanks!

: )

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2012 5:28 PM

    congratulations!

    B

  2. January 5, 2012 11:57 PM

    Dude!!! That’s huge! Congrats man. I wish you the best.

Leave a Reply

